Connect with us


ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Full squad lists of all 10 teams

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 is set to kickstart from Thursday with the finalists of the previous edition of the tournament England and New Zealand in action. 

The marquee event will be hosted solely by India, and 10 teams will be participating across 10 different venues. 

Men in Blue earned automatic promotion, while Australia, Afghanistan, England, Pakistan, South Africa, New Zealand and Bangladesh qualified after finishing in the top-eight in the Cricket World Cup ODI Super League. 

The two remaining spots were picked up by Sri Lanka and the Netherlands via the qualifiers held in Zimbabwe earlier this year. 

West Indies have failed to make it to the mega event for the first time in history following a string of disappointing results during the qualifiers. 

All 10 teams have confirmed their 15-member squads for the Cricket World Cup 2023, which will be played between October 5 and November 19 in India. 


Afghanistan cricket has made great strides in the last few years, and the World Cup will provide a big opportunity for their team to show their progress. They have chosen to go with a number of familiar faces for the tournament. 

Afghanistan squad: Hashmatullah Shahidi, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Ikram Alikhil, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Abdul Rahman, Naveen ul Haq. 


Australia will be aiming to win their sixth World Cup trophy this year, and they have banked on experience to achieve the feat. 

Australia squad: Pat Cummin, Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc. 


Bangladesh were disappointing in the recent ODI series with New Zealand, but they will be very hopeful for the upcoming World Cup considering they pulled off a superb 6-run victory over India in the Asia Cup. 

Bangladesh squad: Shakib Al Hasan, Litton Kumer Das, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib. 


The 2019 World Cup winners England boast some top quality players and will be looking to defend their title in India this year. Star all-rounder Ben Stokes has returned to the team, having reversed his decision to retire from ODIs. 

England squad: Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes. 


India have been enjoying a brilliant run of form ahead of their World Cup campaign. They easily outclassed Sri Lanka in the final of the Asia Cup before claiming the series against Australia 2-1. 

India squad: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav. 


The Dutch defied expectations in the qualifiers to make it to the Cricket World Cup 2023. They have recalled Roelof van der Merwe and Colin Ackermann, with the duo boasting plenty of experience in the game. 

Netherlands squad: Scott Edwards, Max O’Dowd, Bas de Leede, Vikram Singh, Teja Nidamanuru, Paul van Meekeren, Colin Ackermann, Roelof van der Merwe, Logan van Beek, Aryan Dutt, Ryan Klein, Wesley Barresi, Saqib Zulfiqar, Shariz Ahmad, Sybrand Engelbrecht. 

New Zealand 

New Zealand have yet to lift a World Cup trophy, although they made it to the finals twice, most recently in 2019. Will that change this year? Captain Kane Williamson and his team will certainly believe so. 

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young. 


Babar Azam’s side failed to meet expectations in the recently concluded Asia Cup. They will now aim to perform well in the marquee event in India, with the teams boasting some highly talented players like Fakhar Zaman and Shaheen Afridi. 

Pakistan squad: Babar Azam, Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Rizwan, Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Salman Ali Agha, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Wasim. 

South Africa

The Proteas are regarded as one of the most unlucky teams. South Africa have produced some world-class cricketers over the years but have yet to win the prestigious World Cup. They have an opportunity to change that in India this year, but their chances look slim at the moment. 

South Africa squad: Temba Bavuma, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Lizaad Williams. 

Sri Lanka 

Sri Lanka have the distinction of winning the 1996 World Cup. Since then, they have made it to two more finals of the prestigious tournament, most recently in 2011 when they lost to India. Under the captaincy of Dasun Shanaka, the Lions will attempt to lift the trophy again. 

Sri Lanka squad: Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Pathum Nissanka, Lahiru Kumara, Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushan Hemantha. 

Don’t miss a moment of the action! Check out our cricket live streams page to follow the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup.

More in Cricket