Connect with us


ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023: Dates, Teams, Format, Fixtures, Live Streaming & Preview

The eyes of the cricket world will be on India later this year as the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup takes place between 05 October 2023 and 19 November 2023.

Read on as we look at the teams, format, fixtures, cricket live streams and tv schedules, before assessing which nation may lift the trophy.

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 – Teams

Ten teams will compete at the World Cup – Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka.

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 – Format

Each team will play the other nine teams once in the group stage. The top four teams will progress to the semi-finals.

The last four ties will staged in the traditional 1 vs 4, 2 vs 3 format, with the winning teams advancing to the final in Ahmedabad.

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 – Fixtures

The tournament gets underway on Thursday, October 5, with a rematch between 2019 finalists England and New Zealand. The complete fixture list is as follows:

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 – Live Streaming

Cricket fans have a plethora of live streaming options available to them during the tournament. Here are the broadcasters in the major jurisdictions:

  • Afghanistan – Ariana TV.
  • Australia – Fox Sports.      
  • Bangladesh – Spordium.
  • Canada – Hotstar.
  • Caribbean Islands – ESPN.
  • Central & South America and Mexico – ESPN.
  • Continental Europe & South-East Asia – Yupp TV.
  • Hong Kong – PCCW.       
  • India – Star Sports.         
  • Maldives, Bhutan & Bangladesh – Star Sports.       
  • Malaysia – MEASAT.         
  • Middle East & North Africa – Etisalat.
  • Nepal – Star Sports/Net TV.          
  • New Zealand – Sky Sport NZ.        
  • Pacific Islands – PNG Digicel.        
  • Pakistan – PTV, ARY.        
  • Singapore – StarHub.        
  • Sri Lanka – Maharaja TV. 
  • South Africa & Sub-Saharan Africa – SuperSport.   
  • United Kingdom & Ireland – Sky Sports.    
  • United States – ESPN+.    

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 – Preview

Just six teams have won the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup –  Australia (5), India (2), West Indies (2), England (1), Sri Lanka (1) and Pakistan (1).

While India could be tough to beat on home soil, it will be intriguing to see how they cope with the pressure of playing in front of their fans.

England have been tipped by several respected pundits, and the reigning champions should at least make it through to the semi-finals.

However, going back-to-back in a major tournament is never easy, and their busy schedule this year may eventually catch up with them.

Pakistan, New Zealand and South Africa should all be competitive, but the value bet could be Australia.

Their previous record in this tournament warrants plenty of respect, and they will fancy their chances of adding another success to their haul.

They have lifted the trophy three times since the turn of the century (2003, 2007 & 2015) and reached the semi-finals in 2019.

While their early fixtures are tricky, Australia may well emerge as the team to beat as the tournament progresses.

Don’t miss a moment of the action! Check out our cricket live streams page to follow the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup.

More in Cricket