Connect with us


Rugby World Cup 2023: Dates, Teams, Format, Fixtures, Live Streaming & Preview

Rugby union will dominate the headlines over the next couple of months as the prestigious Rugby World Cup is staged in France between 08 September 2023 and 28 October 2023.

The hosts are one of the favourites to lift the trophy, although they will have to overcome previous history if they are to emerge victorious.

New Zealand, South Africa and Ireland will all be tough to beat while writing off Australia and England would be foolish.

Read on as we look at the upcoming tournament including the group stage line-up, dates, format, fixtures, rugby live streams, tv schedules and more.

Rugby World Cup 2023 – Teams

Twenty teams will feature in the opening stage of the 2023 World Cup:

  • Pool A: New Zealand, France, Italy, Uruguay, Namibia.
  • Pool B: South Africa, Ireland, Scotland, Tonga, Romania.
  • Pool C: Wales, Australia, Fiji, Georgia, Portugal.
  • Pool D: England, Japan, Argentina, Samoa, Chile.

Rugby World Cup 2023 – Format

The dates and format for the 2023 Rugby World Cup are as follows:

  • Pool Stage: September 8 – October 8.
  • Quarter-Finals: October 14/15.
  • Semi-Finals: October 20/21.
  • Third-Place Play-Off: October 27.
  • Final: October 28.

Rugby World Cup 2023 – Fixtures

The tournament starts with an enticing clash between France and New Zealand on September 8. The complete list of fixtures is as follows:

Rugby World Cup 2023 – Live Streaming

Numerous live streaming platforms will be airing the 2023 Rugby World Cup. Here are some of the most reliable platforms:

  • Australia – Stan Sport, Nine Network.
  • France – TF1, France Televisions, M6.
  • Ireland – RTE, Virgin Media.
  • Italy – Rai, Sky Sport.
  • Japan – J Sports, Nippon TV, NHK.
  • Netherlands – Ziggo Sport.
  • New Zealand – Sky, Prime.
  • South Africa – SuperSport.
  • United Kingdom – ITV.
  • United States – NBC Sports.

See our Rugby live streaming page for more information.

Rugby World Cup 2023 – Preview

France will be dreaming of winning the Rugby World Cup as they are playing on home soil, but they may find it difficult to achieve the feat.

England’s success in 2003 is the only time a northern hemisphere team has lifted the trophy – with the other eight editions of the tournament all won by teams from south of the Equator.

South Africa and New Zealand have each been crowned world champions on three occasions, and both are expected to be in the mix this year.

The Springboks emerged victorious four years ago and have been tipped by several respected pundits to mount a stern defence of the title.

However, given that New Zealand (2011 & 2015) are the only team ever to retain the trophy, South Africa could find it challenging in France.

Ireland have been touted as potential winners after powering to the Six Nations title, and they will likely go a long way at the tournament.

However, they often flatter to deceive at the World Cup, and it would be no major surprise if they faltered again this year.

England were poor in the Six Nations and do not appeal as likely winners of the tournament.

Given the question marks hanging over most of the fancied teams, New Zealand look to be the safest best to win the tournament.

South Africa hammered them in a recent warm-up match, but the All Blacks will be gunning to prove a point when the World Cup starts.

Don’t miss a moment of the action! Check out our rugby live streams page to follow the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

More in Rugby