Connect with us


Asia Cup 2023 set to start on Aug 30, Pakistan vs India clash on Sep 2

The schedule for the 2023 Asia Cup has been announced with the tournament set to start in Multan on August 30. 

Pakistan, who will co-host the tournament with Sri Lanka, will square off with Nepal in the opening match at the Multan Cricket Stadium. 

Three more matches will be held in Pakistan with all of them happening in Lahore. While the remaining games will take place in Sri Lanka. 

The Green Shirts’ iconic clash with India will occur in Kandy on September 2. 

The 2023 Asia Cup will be played in a fifty-overs format, with the six participating teams divided into two groups of three each. 

Group A includes Pakistan, India and Nepal, while Group B has Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Sri Lanka. 

Each team will play two matches in the group-stage before the tournament heads to the Super 4s that will start on September 6. 

The top two teams at the end of the Super 4s will qualify for the final of the tournament on September 17 in Colombo. 

The previous Asia Cup happened in 2022 when Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan by 23 runs in the final in Dubai. 

With seven titles, India is the most successful team in the history of the tournament. 

Sri Lanka are close behind the Men in Blue with six, while Pakistan have won two titles. 

Asia Cup 2023 Schedule 

Aug 30 – Pakistan v Nepal, Multan Cricket Stadium, Multan

Aug 31 – Bangladesh v Sri Lanka, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy, Sri Lanka

Sep 2 – Pakistan v India, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium Kandy, Sri Lanka

Sep 3 – Bangladesh v Afghanistan, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

Sep 4 – India v Nepal, Pallekele International Cricket stadium Kandy, Sri Lanka

Sep 5 – Afghanistan v Sri Lanka, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

Sep 6 – A1 v B2 (Super-4), Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

Sep 9 – B1 v B2 (Super-4), R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium (RPICS), Colombo, Sri Lanka

Sep 10 – A1 v A2 (Super-4), RPICS, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Sep 12 – A2 v B1 (Super-4), RPICS, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Sep 14 – A1 v B1 (Super-4), RPICS, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Sep 15 – A2 v B2, (Super-4), RPICS, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Sep 17 – Final – 1 v 2, RPICS, Colombo, Sri Lanka

More in Cricket