Connect with us


PSL 7: Lahore Qalandars clinch maiden title after defeating Multan Sultans by 42 runs

Lahore Qalandars 180 for 5 (Hafeez 69, Brook 41*) beat Multan Sultans 138 (Khushdil 32) by 43 runs.

Lahore Qalandars clinched their maiden Pakistan Super League title after defeating Multan Sultans in the final by 42 runs. 

The Qalandars restricted their opponents to 138 after posting a 181-run target at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Sunday. 

Shaheen Afridi’s side opted to bat first after winning the toss, a decision which looked questionable as they made the worst possible start. 

Three of their batsmen – Fakhar Zaman, Zeeshan Ashraf and Abdullah Shafique – were back in the pavilion when the score was just 25.  

However, Mohammad Hafeez played a sensible 69 off 46 balls knock to bring the Qalandars back into the game. 

And with some explosive batting from Harry Brook and David Wiese late in the innings, Lahore reached a competitive 181-run target. 

In response, Multan made a quick start through openers Mohammad Rizwan and Shan Masood. 

But they lost momentum when Hafeez clean bowled Rizwan in the third over.

Zaman, who failed to impress with the bat, ran out Masood with a superb direct hit before also taking a great catch to dismiss Aamer Azmat. 

Tim David and Khushdil Shah offered some resistance, but they also didn’t stay long at the crease.  

Ultimately, it proved to be a comfortable victory for the Qalandars.

See the PSL 7 schedule for all match dates and our live cricket streams page for information on finding the best cricket streaming site for you.

More in Cricket